Meet The 2016 Ryan Award Winners

Each of the winners have demonstrated an impressive record of success when it comes to student achievement growth. Their leadership and dedication to student success are models of excellence that should be strived for in all underserved schools. And that’s why the Ryan Award is proud to recognize their achievements. These leaders are making a difference in children’s lives for years to come. 

Laura Miguez Howarth

School Leader
KIPP Nashville
Nashville, TN

Miguez Howarth began her teaching career at KIPP Academy in 2008, was promoted to Dean of Students in 2010 and principal in 2011. Under her leadership, KIPP Academy was a SCORE Prize Finalist the last two years, a coveted recognition of the State Collaborative on Reforming Education. The school  also has been named a Tennessee Reward School for having achieved top five percent student growth in the state, and has been recognized by the Education Consumer Foundation for top K-8 student growth in Middle Tennessee.

Hannah Lofthus

Founding Principal and CEO
Ewing Marion Kauffman School
Kansas City, MO

Hannah Lofthus, founding principal of the Ewing Marion Kauffman School in Kansas City, will be named the 2nd recipient of the Ryan Award on June 3, 2016. Founded in 2011 as a rigorous college preparatory school for lower-income students, Kauffman today is a three-school campus serving nearly 700 children in grades 5-9, and will grow to serve 1,100 students in grades 5-12 by 2018. The school’s mission is summarized in three words: create college graduates.

Previous Ryan Award Winners in their own words